LTT Xi beat log leaders Giyani

Date: 31 January 2019 By: Anton van Zyl

Viewed: 385

Louis Trichardt XI beat the log leaders in the Promotional League of Limpopo Impala Cricket, Giyani, by 51 runs on Sunday. Louis Trichardt have now moved to the top of the log, three points ahead of Giyani.

Sunday’s match was delayed because of the soft rain that fell earlier the morning over Louis Trichardt. Fortunately, the covers were available to protect the pitch and the match could continue.

The home side was sent in to bat first and when both openers lost their wickets with the total on only 2, things did not look very bright. Dewald Joubert (34), Leon Furstenburg (13) and Warno Smit (16) then put up a bit of a fight. Irvin Moropo, Giyani’s star bowler, claimed three more scalps and at 78/8 Louis Trichardt were in serious trouble. Jandré Hancke (14) stood his ground, but it was left to Riaan Gerber (16 not out) and Vimal Shah (20) to add substance and take the score to 128. The last wicket fell in the 23rd over.

Irvin Moropo was the pick of the bowlers, taking 5/52 in seven overs. Wayne Alexis Weller-Blaber also made a useful contribution, taking 3/29 in 5.2 overs.

Giyani’s batting innings started on an uncertain note, with wickets tumbling at regular intervals. Irvin Moropo showed that he is not only good with the ball in hand, but also knows how to handle the willow. He scored a patient 27 runs from 54 balls before he was caught off the bowling of AJ Fourie. Unfortunately for Irvin, he had little support from his fellow batsmen. None of them could achieve double figures and the last wicket fell with the total on 77.

For Louis Trichardt, Wouter Smit did most of the damage with the ball, demolishing the top order in the process. He took 3/9 in seven overs. Leon Olwage took 2/10 in three overs and Vimal Shah took 2/6 in 3.1 overs.





To leave a comment you need to login / register first

Anton van Zyl

Anton van Zyl has been with the Zoutpansberger and Limpopo Mirror since 1990. He graduated at the the Rand Afrikaans University (now University of Johannesburg) and obtained a BA Communications degree. He is a founder member of the Association of Independent Publishers.



More photos...