Three of the Louis Trichardt players who received trophies during Friday night's Limpopo Impala Cricket prize-giving function. From left are Dirk van den Berg (best bowler in both the T20 and the promotional league), Gerhardus Fourie (best U/17 player) and Dewald Joubert (best batsman in the promotional league). Leon Olwage (best batsman in the T20 league) was absent when the photo was taken. Photo supplied.

LTT Cricket walks away with top provincial trophies

Date: 30 May 2019 By: Anton van Zyl

Viewed: 841

Players from the Louis Trichardt Cricket Club were awarded several of the top trophies during the Limpopo Impala Cricket prize-giving function last Friday.

The Louis Trichardt XI side won the province’s promotional league the past season. The trophy for the best batsman of this league went to Dewald Joubert of Louis Trichardt, while his team-mate, Dirk van den Berg, won the trophy for best bowler of the league.

Dirk was awarded two trophies, also receiving the award as best bowler of the provincial T20 league. Another Louis Trichardt player, Leon Olwage, won the award as best batsman of the T20 league.

Louis Trichardt showed the past season that it can field a very competitive side. In the T20 league the team won the Vhembe District round-robin competition. The team came up against Seshego, the winners of the Capricorn District, in the semi-finals of the competition. Seshego won this encounter and then continued to win the final match.

Another player from Louis Trichardt, Gerhardus Fourie, won the award as the province’s U/17 Player of the Year.




To leave a comment you need to login / register first

Anton van Zyl

Anton van Zyl has been with the Zoutpansberger and Limpopo Mirror since 1990. He graduated from the Rand Afrikaans University (now University of Johannesburg) and obtained a BA Communications degree. He is a founder member of the Association of Independent Publishers.



More photos...